top of page

Motion

This week we started our new integrated unit on Motion! We focused on transportation: cars, planes, trains, etc. and their wheels that put them in motion!

We made color wheels and they were a big hit!

This week was a short(er) week with early release on Wednesday where we did Fall Literacy Centers...

and then I was at a training Thursday morning & the kids had a substitute! The sub had a glowing report saying our class was SO well behaved and they handled their first code red drill so well (I was a very nervous teacher that I wasn't going to be there with them but our practicing paid off!) When I got back to school at noon, I was greeted with the most amazing hugs and "I missed you!"'s :) If only everyone was appreciated at work like kindergarten teachers are appreciated by their kiddos!

Then Friday was our Storybook Character Day! I loved celebrating our love of literacy with the kids and getting to see/read their favorite books!

Silly Scarecrow.... Ms. Ham's friends have really big brains! :)

Ask Your Child About:

-Writing: Informative Writing- Writing to give information... We are NOT using "like" in our sentences right now! We wrote about our cars, machines that have wheels, and trucks.

-Content Connection: Wheels and axles! We Made color wheels, experimented with surfaces to race cars on, and read about roller coasters.

-Phonemic Awareness: Syllables, Ending Sounds

-Sight Words: Of, On, Up

-Reading: Unknown Words & Matching the pictures to the text! We read "What Do Wheels Do All Day?" and created circle maps of different types of wheels.

-Math: Numbers 11-15! We practiced identifying and writing our numbers.

I am SO lucky to teach these kiddos...

Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

With SO much love,

Ms. Ham

Disclosure: I have written permission to post photos of students from parents/legal guardians.


Meet Ms. Ham  

Hi, I'm Ms. Ham!  This is my 6th year teaching kindergarten. I love my job and my students (past and present!)  This website has all of our weekly updates to fill you in on what is going on in our classroom!  I hope that you leave with a kindergartener's enthusiasm for living and learning! 

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
bottom of page