top of page

Ocean Animals

Hi Families,

Fingers crossed, I am finally on the tail-end of illness! I tried to work Friday and they sent me home. I had lots of people sending me updates and pictures of the kids... I cried that I missed their grad. pics & class picture! Anyway, thanks for your patience! I am never this sick and I don't handle it well.

On Monday, we spent the morning catching up on what we did over spring break! We had a long community circle, wrote about our favorite part/what we read/what we played, and then shared on the doc. cam! I shared videos of llamas, alpacas, and Machu Picchu with them and they loved it. I died laughing when this little one showed us her favorite part of break... there I was thinking MY spring break was fun! ;)

We started the 4th quarter by switching gears from needs vs. wants & money to Living Things: Ocean Animals.

We mainly focused on fish and whales this week! We read "Swimmy, The Pout-Pout Fish, The Rainbow Fish, etc." We did tree maps on whales and opinion writing on what makes us special like Rainbow Fish.

In math, we had a week of measuring weight. I changed the lesson up a bit and used my seashells/coral/etc. from living in Florida to weigh and they were OBSESSED.

We have ocean themed centers for writing and reading the next couple weeks & they're pretty fun!

Working on digraph words from the fishbowl!

Ask Your Child About:

-Phonics: vowel teams & digraphs

-Phonemic awareness: sound manipulation in all positions

-Writing: opinion writing & tree maps

-Reading: catching when something doesn't make sense, comprehension strategies

-Science: living things: ocean animals

-Technology: coding! They did so well with Mrs. Tucker and coding! I'll send the link when they're ready!

-Math: measurement: weight (heavier, lighter, equal)

FYI:

-Mr. McCarter is giving us forms to order Games Day t-shirts on Monday... they're due Friday!

-It is fun run time! Our fun run is on Friday and parents are welcome to attend! :) I'm supposed to send you an email EVERY DAY reminding . you to get pledges, but I don't want an email every day, so I'm not going to do that to you! Please just get as many pledges as possible. It really does help our school and the kids benefit! If you haven't registered on funrun.com yet, please do so using the registration packets sent home last week!

-With the fun run on Friday, this upcoming week is spirit week:

Monday- backwards day

Tuesday- pajama day

Wednesday- hat day

Thursday- school colors/spirit day

Friday- wear your fun run t-shirt!

-PTO is asking for volunteers to help with passing out fun run prizes. If you're able, please sign up on the signup genius on MVE's webpage.

Once we get through fun run on Friday, I will give you important dates for the remainder of the year! (At that point, we will only have 7 weeks left!)

If I missed anything or if you have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me! Again, thanks for your patience this week!

With SO much love,

Ms. Ham


Meet Ms. Ham  

Hi, I'm Ms. Ham!  This is my 6th year teaching kindergarten. I love my job and my students (past and present!)  This website has all of our weekly updates to fill you in on what is going on in our classroom!  I hope that you leave with a kindergartener's enthusiasm for living and learning! 

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
bottom of page