top of page

Catch Us If You Can!


It's the most wonderful time of the year....Gingerbread Man Unit! :) This unit is my favorite out of the whole year because it creates little Gingerbread book monsters! They seriously can't get enough of the different versions and comparing/contrasting the characters, settings, and events. We read NINE different versions this week and have another week starting on Monday! We hit two major K standards with this unit: sequencing and compare/contrast similarities and differences between familiar stories.

We wrote about the different versions each day:

Monday- Gingerbread Man

Tuesday- Gingerbread Boy

Wednesday- Gingerbread Girl

Thursday- Gingerbread Bear

Friday- Gingerbread Pirates

We had some fun new gingerbread centers:

**This center also ended up doubling as a social skills center because we had a lot of conflicts over sharing pieces!

We created Missing Posters for our Gingerbread Men... Side Note: Only a couple kiddos know Mom or Dad's phone number- this is an important life skill to be practicing at home! They may not have home phone numbers, but they should have a number to call in an emergency! :)

And they just really couldn't get enough of this week! I wish I had videotaped some of our read alouds because their reactions to the stories as they're anticipating the fox or singing the gingerbreads' taunts make my teacher heart explode. Any time you can read a "series," please do! It creates little "addicts" and I want them leaving my room absolutely obsessed with reading! :)

Ask Your Child About:

-Phonological Awareness: segmenting words, ending sounds

-Phonics: 100% letter names & sounds! We are introducing digraphs right now (sh, th, ch)

-Writing: OH MY GOSH! I gave them their gingerbread pirate to glue in their journal on Friday and basically said "do what you do!" to see what they could do without prompting or support and I was so impressed! They are writing sentences beautifully with sight words and finger spaces.

-Reading: Comparing/Contrasting- which Gingerbread version was your favorite so far? Which versions does the gingerbread survive in? (There's only been 3 so far!)

-Social Studies: Chronology/Sequencing

-Math: Adding, Counting On, Beat You To Twenty

FYI:

-We took iReady reading this week and I am happy with their results overall! We take iReady math on Monday and Tuesday of next week!

-I have assessed all phonics, phonemic awareness, and sight words for report cards! I have emailed you with any phonics or phonemic awareness concerns. I am not going to send out sight word emails because it's a majority... please be working on those at home! See homework! :)

-Please be working on zipping winter jackets at home! Life skills :)

& Just because...

My class that NEVER sits still went outside to recess on Thursday and I see them all sitting on a wall! :) I literally said, "WHYYYY?" but then took their picture because I love 'em a whole lot.

Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

With SO much love,

Ms. Ham


Meet Ms. Ham  

Hi, I'm Ms. Ham!  This is my 6th year teaching kindergarten. I love my job and my students (past and present!)  This website has all of our weekly updates to fill you in on what is going on in our classroom!  I hope that you leave with a kindergartener's enthusiasm for living and learning! 

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
bottom of page