top of page

Arctic Animals: Polar Bears & More

What a weird week with no school Monday & a snow day Tuesday! We continued learning about arctic animals with a few more penguin books and activities & then we switched to polar bears and other arctic friends!

All of our writing groups are now doing tree maps! They are rocking writing now that their sounds come with automaticity!

This group was growling like polar bears in this picture!

We read, "Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear?" and "Little Polar Bear Finds a Friend" for fiction stories & many nonfiction books on polar bears! We also researched using PebbleGo.

Some of our writing groups have moved on to opinion writing:

& as much as I am over the snow and the ice (& the jackets, boots, hats, & gloves!), they find so much joy in it:

It is impossible to be anything but happy with these little ones! :) I've felt especially thankful for them in January!

We talked about the 100th day celebration & they brainstormed some activities that 100 year olds like to do. We are super excited to host our parents & grandparents on Friday, February 1st to celebrate our 100th day of kindergarten! One of them said, "My grandparents live in another world, but they can still come!" I can't wait to meet these alien grandparents! ;)

Ask Your Child About:

-Phonics: digraphs

-Phonemic Awareness: middle sounds & sound manipulation (change the /b/ in bat to /c/ = cat)

-Writing: tree maps! (The subject is, has, can)

-Reading: I took the weird short week to read one on one with the kids rather than doing reading groups (they still did normal centers)! Ask your child about his/her reading level!

-Science: living things! What color is a polar bear's fur? (clear! Bioluminescence makes it look white!)

-Math: geometry. We learned a new work station every day this week having to do with shapes & their characteristics.

FYI:

-Please see the signup genius to support our 100th day celebration if possible!

-Please email me if you did not get the info. on 100th day in your child's Thursday folder! I can't wait to see them dressed up on Friday! :)

-Parents will not be attending Valentine's Day party due to the substitute! Sorry!

I hope you had a wonderful weekend!

With SO much love,

Ms. Ham


Meet Ms. Ham  

Hi, I'm Ms. Ham!  This is my 6th year teaching kindergarten. I love my job and my students (past and present!)  This website has all of our weekly updates to fill you in on what is going on in our classroom!  I hope that you leave with a kindergartener's enthusiasm for living and learning! 

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
bottom of page